Author Topic: short cut key assignment - number pad?  (Read 141 times)

corlett

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
short cut key assignment - number pad?
« on: September 09, 2019, 02:07:09 AM »
Hi

A. I use designCAD every day and usually for hours at a time.
B. Assigning short cut keys is essential to speed things up.
C. Assigning short cut keys is essential to cutting down on my RSI which is currently giving me pain (agony) in mt left shoulder.

SO!
In the key assignment window, letters, characters and numbers are available but is it possible to assign shortcuts to the 'number pad'? This would spread the load to my right arm perhaps.

In my innocence number one across the top bar looks like number one on the 'number pad' but it's clearly not, even with number lock on or off.

Clive

corlett

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
Re: short cut key assignment - number pad?
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2019, 01:51:16 AM »
I have now found a registry edit GUI which re-defines keys.

It's called sharpkeys.exe

It comes with a warning that if you mess up your keyboard you could spend an hour or two rescuing a copy of the registry in safe mode, so not for the faint-hearted.

Bad news for me is that although it removed function from the number keys the newly assigned number pad did not function the same.

Clive, still looking.

PS
With this you can mute the caps lock key.  So no more typing in caps BY MISTAKE! gerrr.

Bob P

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1229
    • Era Replica Automobiles
Re: short cut key assignment - number pad?
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2019, 03:52:42 AM »
Have you looked at Autohotkey?

* I fiddled around with assigning keystrokes to numpad1 and couldn't get it to work.

A macro keyboard addition might be your best bet. Just not free...
« Last Edit: September 11, 2019, 05:49:42 AM by Bob P »

bdeck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 962
Re: short cut key assignment - number pad?
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2019, 10:41:42 AM »
Hi Clive,

Good Idea.

Some keys on the numeric keypad are assignable, so here's a back door solution.

If you assign this macro the the "+" key, for example, the next key stroke can be from any key on the keyboard. Using the macro requires two consecutive key strokes (first the "+", then the shortcut), but both keys can be on the numeric pad for one-hand operation. And no shifted keys are ever required (or allowed). 

If you rename multiple copies and assign to +, -, pgup, pgdn, etc, you can heavily overload all the shortcuts.

bd

PS: Note that a bug in DC prevents anykey from suppressing the default handling of F1 and F10..

Code: [Select]
' ' ' keydirector.d3m    initiate a command or macro using two key strokes on the numeric pad   bdeck,2019
' ' ' Rename multiple versions and assign keyboard shortcuts using +, -, pgup, pgdn key, etc
' ' ' This demo is set up to start the circle command or print a message as examples only
' ' ' Add an if structure in "decode" section for each shortcut key you want to use
 
gosub keydefine
print "press a key to initiate an action"
anykey k
gosub decode
end

decode:
if k=k_0 then
>Circle
{
}
endif

if k=k_0A then
print "You pressed the alpha 0 key,  keycode = ", k
anykey
endif
return

keydefine:                   'partial list of key codes
k_a=65
k_b=66
k_c=67
k_d=68
k_e=69
k_f=70
k_g=71
k_h=72
k_i=73
k_j=74
k_k=75
k_l=76
k_m=77
k_n=78
k_o=79
k_p=80
k_q=81
k_r=82
k_s=83
k_t=84
k_u=85
k_v=86
k_w=87
k_x=88
k_y=89
k_z=90

k_F1=112      'DC  BUG, do not use, returns code AND activates Help
  k_F2=113
k_F3=114
k_F4=115

k_F5=116
k_F6=117
k_F7=118
k_F8=119

k_F9=120
k_F10=121      'DC  BUG, do not use, activates file menu
k_F11=122
k_F12=123

k_esc=27
k_cr=13           ' enter key
k_up=38
k_dn=40
k_rt=39
k_lft=37
k_pup=33
k_pdn=34
k_home=36
k_spc=32
k_shft=16
k_cntrl=17
k_click=1
k_plus=107
k_minus=109
k_eq=187
k_plusA=187     'use keycode for equal ("=")
k_minusA=189

k_0=96
k_0A=48

k_1=97
k_1A=49

k_2=98
k_2A=50

k_3=99
k_3A=51

k_4=100
k_4A=52

k_5=101
k_5A=53

k_6=102
k_6A=54

k_7=103
k_7A=55

k_8=104
k_8A=56

k_9=105
k_9A=57
    return
 







 
« Last Edit: September 12, 2019, 08:14:21 AM by bdeck »

corlett

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
Re: short cut key assignment - number pad?
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2019, 07:51:01 AM »
Thanks bdeck

Great idea I see were you are going.
Unfortunately I now have some work to do but will get back on this soon.

Thanks, Clive

I have just invested in an ergonomic keyboard 'Microsoft Sculpt'. It has a separate key pad.  ( I don't like the mouse and will be keeping my old LOGITECH)
But I can place the number pad to my left the two key press solution could work for me