Author Topic: When did DC3D stop using BASICAD?  (Read 199 times)

eben

When did DC3D stop using BASICAD?
« on: March 27, 2018, 04:02:37 PM »
DC3D used Basic in BASICAD in ver4 which I bought in a "store" back in the 80s. I started learning basic on a Timex Sinclair (which I soon took apart). Then did a lot with QB and then w/QB4. In the early 90s Allen Bradley made a high power variable frequency 3 phase motor drive programmable in basic. Hmmm.  Shortly thereafter c started to become popular, the c++ (whatever that was or is). I've read the documentation on DC3D macro language. Looks like c to me. I tried to learn c but it didn't make sense, still doesn't.  So.... what version of DC3D changed BASICAD from Basic to c?   and....are old pre c versions of DC3D available?

Bob P

• Era Replica Automobiles
Re: When did DC3D stop using BASICAD?
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2018, 04:30:11 PM »
I used the last version of DC3D DOS (I think it was V5) and it ran all my bsc macros fine. (And I had well over 200 of them.)

bdeck

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2018, 08:20:13 PM »
Hi eben,

DC still uses basicad, but it changed significantly in version 7, (about 20 years ago) and it has been adding features ever since.

DC's macro language is a subset of typical Basics, but lacking:
   multidimensional arrays
   local variables
   elseif
   bitwise operators
   parameter passing to user defined functions

Otherwise it should be very recognizable.
Every version of DC ships with example macros.
Basicad has a list of predefined "commands," "statements," and "functions" by which it controls the drawing program.
They are documented in the SDK within the reference manual "Macros17.hlp" with examples.
Punctuation might be a little new to you.  Each curly bracket (used in "commands")  must be on its own line.
Any variable used as an argument for a command parameter within the curly brackets must be enclosed in square brackets.