Author Topic: Can't get Function Keys to work?  (Read 251 times)

Al

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Can't get Function Keys to work?
« on: April 23, 2018, 08:40:31 AM »
Hello All.

I have a new PC computer with windows 10 and running DesignCAD 3D Max 2018 software. The problem is I can't get any of my F keys to work. I have gone to keyboard options and tried program them with no luck. Does anyone know a fix for this problem.

Thanks,
Al

Dr PR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5611
Re: Can't get Function Keys to work?
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2018, 09:58:51 AM »
I have a Toshiba laptop that has a "FN" key. I have to press the FN key in order to get any of the normal function keys to work. Without the FN key the F1 through F12 keys control brightness, loudness, touch pad/mouse, WiFi/airplane mode, etc.

Phil
DesignCAD user since 1987

Lar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2815
Re: Can't get Function Keys to work?
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2018, 10:11:27 AM »

To get the function keys to be the default (instead of the Fn keys) you have to change it through the BIOS. Then you would have to press the Fn keys to control the volumn, brightness, etc.


Lar

DrollTroll

  • Kindly Curmudgeon
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4230
Re: Can't get Function Keys to work?
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2018, 05:59:18 PM »
Dr PR, try this:
https://ccm.net/forum/affich-679303-disable-function-keys-nothing-is-working

Al, is it a laptop or desktop? Need more info.
25 years with DesignCAD

Dr PR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5611
Re: Can't get Function Keys to work?
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2018, 09:42:26 AM »
DT,

Thanks. However, I use the laptop only for email and Internet browsing, so it doesn't matter to me how the function keys work.

Phil
DesignCAD user since 1987

John R

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: Can't get Function Keys to work?
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2018, 02:20:59 PM »
On my desktop workstation, the keyboard that came with it has an "Fn" key. "Fn+Esc" will disable/enable the function keys.
"Fn+F1" will put the computer to sleep, but occasionally I'll hit the Escape key by mistake and turn off my "F" keys. :)
John R.

Al

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Can't get Function Keys to work?
« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2018, 07:12:18 PM »
PR,

It's a laptop. I Think I have it now. fn key will work.

Al