Author Topic: New Bug  (Read 829 times)

kenbuch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
New Bug
« on: January 25, 2018, 04:49:52 AM »
I installed DesignCAD 3D Max 2018 Update on 1/23/18.
Now for angle dimensions, instead of the "" symbol there is an uppercase Y with a carat on top: 
I tried different fonts both vector and true type with the same results.

Lar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
Re: New Bug
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2018, 06:00:59 AM »

I have the regular degree symbol but my version is probably a bit older than your.


Lar

Bob P

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1205
    • Era Replica Automobiles
Re: New Bug
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2018, 06:17:40 AM »
It shows up correctly in earlier versions but is broken in DC 2018. It's not like they're using a new code chart. The degree sign (and Ȳ) is the same value in ASCII and Unicode. It's apparently he program's fault.

Lar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
Re: New Bug
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2018, 06:23:09 AM »
What you can try before this gets fixed (if ever) is select the dimension, open the info box, click the 'units/tolerance' tab, activate 'fixed text' and change the Y for a degree symbol (but remember if you adjust the dimension's points the number won't change while that is active - you will have to deactivate to see the value then activate and type back in).
Now I tried this with the degree symbol from the multiline text dialog and it put a square after the inserted degree symbol. If this happens with your degree symbol then probably just leave it out (so you see the number with no symbol) or type "deg." or something.
Lar

kenbuch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: New Bug
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2018, 07:00:33 AM »
Thanks Lar. I never noticed the fix text box. Now what I do is just over-wright the weird Y with 'ALT-248' to type the degree symbol.

Lar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
Re: New Bug
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2018, 10:40:21 AM »

... 'ALT-248' to type the degree symbol.

Hmmm, how does that work? I don't get the degree symbol...

Dr PR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5608
Re: New Bug
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2018, 12:11:41 PM »
For normal text I use the Windows Character Map to select the degree symbol and copy it. Then I paste it into the text while I am typing. I don't know if I have tried it with dimension text, but it might work.

This works with True Type fonts for any character in the chosen font table (at least all that I have tried).

I have assigned the Character Map to a tool icon in my custom toolbox. The Character Map is charmap.exe. It is somewhere in the Windows folders.

Phil
DesignCAD user since 1987

kenbuch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: New Bug
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2018, 12:16:09 PM »
You hold down the ALT key while typing 248 This is the degree symbol
I just looked at the Extended ASCII chart and the Y with carat symbol is ASCII 237
Someone must have put the wrong number in the code.
Here is one source for the tables:
http://www.theasciicode.com.ar/

Lar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
Re: New Bug
« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2018, 01:39:40 PM »


My computer wasn't allowing it. I just got pings when I held Alt and typed, in any app. I tried the left alt, then the right, no joy. However, I was then inspired to hold both alt keys at the same time and that did it. Thereafter I could just hold just one alt key and type to get the symbols.

Thanks Ken.


Lar
           ...a minute later: well, at least it lasted about a minute. It's back to the pinging, no matter which or how many alts I press. I'll figure it out...
« Last Edit: January 25, 2018, 01:47:45 PM by Lar »

ALI ZAIDI

  • Beta Testers
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: New Bug
« Reply #9 on: February 01, 2018, 09:42:56 PM »
Noted. This bug will be solved in the next update patch.
DesignCAD TEAM
Ali Zaidi
DesignCAD Developer
IMSI Technologies

bdeck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 888
Re: New Bug
« Reply #10 on: February 05, 2018, 03:06:45 PM »
Noted. This bug will be solved in the next update patch.
DesignCAD TEAM

While you're at it, how about fixing this bug in the dimension angle command, which has plagued us for 10 years?

http://forum.designcadcommunity.com/index.php?topic=7045.0

Thanks,
db


ALI ZAIDI

  • Beta Testers
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: New Bug
« Reply #11 on: February 06, 2018, 11:08:11 PM »
Bug Fixed.
Ali Zaidi
DesignCAD Developer
IMSI Technologies

bdeck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 888
Re: New Bug
« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2018, 12:34:28 AM »
Ali, Many Thanks.

bd

Bob P

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1205
    • Era Replica Automobiles
Re: New Bug
« Reply #13 on: March 22, 2018, 02:21:28 PM »
Type "charmap" in the Windows Start>Run box and see all the symbols that are available.

Dr PR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5608
Re: New Bug
« Reply #14 on: March 23, 2018, 12:01:22 AM »
I assigned the Windows Character Map to an icon in my custom toolbox.

Phil
DesignCAD user since 1987