Author Topic: handles  (Read 44 times)

seulrich01

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
handles
« on: September 19, 2017, 04:59:22 PM »
I know how to move the handles in turbo cad... crtl right mouse click

how do you move handles in design cad

Rob S

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Construction Estimating Program for General Contractors
Re: handles
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2017, 06:38:46 PM »
Select the objects, then Ctrl+H, and set a point for the new handle

Or, from the menu "edit, selection edit, set handles"
User since Pro-design

Dr PR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5417
Re: handles
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2017, 12:04:34 AM »
Do you want to move the existing handles on an object, or move the object by the handles?

As Rob said, to change handles on an object first select the object and the use "Edit/Selection Edit/Set Handles." You can set 1 to 3 handles. The first (primary) is the drag/copy/duplicate handle. The second is used to set the size and angle of the object, and the third can be used to orient the object in 3D space.

To move an object you can just gravity snap to the object and drag it by the snap handle. "Move," "Copy" and "Duplicate" all work with the primary handle created with the "Set Handles" command.

DesignCAD defaults to using CTRL right click for gravity snap and the simple right click opens a context sensitive pop-up menu of commands. Many people reverse this so right click is gravity snap and CTRL-right click opens the menu.

Phil
DesignCAD user since 1987

bdeck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 807
Re: handles
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2017, 11:39:09 AM »
I
how do you move handles in design cad

Dunno what you mean by "moving" a handle. The concept does not exist in DC.

DC has both "selection handles" and the seldom used "drawing handles." Either can be replaced, but not moved without using a macro.

   1) The command for creating a selection handle (cntrl-h) allows you to SET  one or two  handles (or three in 3d mode) for a given selection. When a selection handle is set, the previous handle is erased.
     Even if only one handle is being set of a selection, any new handle will replace all transient (non-sticky) handles for that selection.
     Once a selection is deselected, all handles are gone forever, unless (a) the selection consists in a single entity or group, and (b) the "sticky handles" option is set.
     If the selection consists in a single entity or group, the handle command will replace all sticky handle for the selection as well.

     2) Drawing handles set with menu/Point/Set Drawing Handles in DC are useful only if you intend to save the ENTIRE drawing for later use as a symbol.  As best I can tell, such drawing handles will not survive when saving a SELECTION with either Save As or with Save As Symbol.

   However, the Menu/File/Save As Symbol command will allow you to assign the current selection handles as the symbol handles, or to manually set new symbol handles while saving.

bd