Author Topic: measuring volume  (Read 87 times)

Ado

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
measuring volume
« on: June 07, 2017, 06:08:16 AM »
If I create or import an irregular 2d shape is there a way to measure the area of it?

impulse

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: measuring volume
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2017, 06:37:13 AM »
you can use the AREA command, which asks for points to be seton the perimeter of the shape
or , if it is a poly line ( a line comprised of multiple points) you can select it and open the INFO box. at the bottom of the box there is an option to display area of selected entity.


edit, just read the post title...it asks about Volume. I'm not sure what the question is now
« Last Edit: June 07, 2017, 06:38:53 AM by impulse »

Bob P

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1140
    • Era Replica Automobiles
Re: measuring volume
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2017, 09:02:08 AM »
If the area is bounded by many separate but contiguous lines (and no closed shapes inside), I use a workaround.
Hatchfill the area. All you have to do is click inside the area.
Double-click on the hatch to bring up its Info Box.
At the bottom of the IB, there's a checkbox for area.
After you get the area, just press delete to remove the hatch.

Ado

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: measuring volume
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2017, 09:58:22 AM »
Thanks for the advice guys. Yeah, sorry about the title- definitely meant AREA.
Cheers.