Author Topic: Allow me to introduce myself  (Read 507 times)

Icedog

Allow me to introduce myself
« on: December 16, 2016, 09:22:17 AM »
I only yesterday installed Design Cad 3D Max on my laptop. While I have been an engineer for many moons, I have absolutely no familiarity with any CAD system. I am a disabled veteran but I do much fabrication for my countless projects in my basement shop. Although I freely admit my ignorance regarding CAD systems, I always draw what I build and I build what I draw. However, I am tired of being a dinosaur. I am hoping I will be able to learn from you folks and I am also hoping my ignorance doesn't wear you out.

I have started studying the Getting Started Guide and the training program I purchased with the software. I am thrilled with Design Cad and I am anxious to get started. Please forgive my impatience. Being involved in an exciting car customization project, I am going to use this project as the jumping off point in my transition from pencils and scales to Computer Aided Drafting. So, here we are.

Here is a drawing of the basic assembly I am designing. It will be titanium tailpipe ends for my 2016 MINI JCW 2 Door Hard Top. I know I can make drawings of each part individually. My first question is, will the system take the individual part drawings and put them together to create an assembly drawing or am I going to have to createan entire assembly drawing?[/url]Tailpipe Drawing by Brad, on Flickr[/img]

Okay, already I have a problem. Would someone please tell me how to add a photo to a post?
« Last Edit: December 16, 2016, 09:25:51 AM by Icedog »

Rob S

• Construction Estimating Program for General Contractors
Re: Allow me to introduce myself
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2016, 09:52:36 AM »
Welcome, Icedog

This forum is populated by numerous Designcad "enthusiasts" of all varieties who will be happy to respond to any questions you might have.