Author Topic: dimensioning text size  (Read 570 times)

RogerH

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
dimensioning text size
« on: October 26, 2016, 06:35:46 PM »
How do you change the size of dimensioning values & arroheads in drafing?

bdeck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 827
Re: dimensioning text size
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2016, 08:26:31 PM »
To change text and arrow properties of an existing dimenion:
1) Double click on the dimension to get the "infobox", where those properties may be edited.
       Or
2) Select the dimension, then hit "Control I" to get the infobox. ( Learn how to change the keyboard shortcut for the infobox to an unshifted keystroke. )

To change properties of future dimensions:

Run the macro from this thread:
http://forum.designcadcommunity.com/index.php?topic=1047.msg6188#msg6188

To change the values in BasicCad, look up "Query and Change Parameters" in the Macros17.HLP manual, and also in the Release notes for later versions.

bd
« Last Edit: October 26, 2016, 09:08:48 PM by bdeck »

Lar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2620
Re: dimensioning text size
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2016, 04:55:29 AM »
In addition to bdeck's advice you can setup properties for future dimensions by going to Options menu> Options (Q key) for the Options dialog and click the Dimensions tab. Each type of dimension has it's own setup (choose the type from "Dimension Type:" at the very top).

You can also change the setup when you are in the dimensions command via the command's dialog box. The 'same as' button is for clicking on existing dimensions to acquire their entire setup. The right side of the dialog has buttons for different categories. Each of these has a 'same as' finger button that can acquire the setup for that category.

Lar

RogerH

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: dimensioning text size
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2016, 12:22:04 PM »
Thank you gentlemen. I shall give all methods a try.
Klutzy compared to other CAD software, but I suspect
its a cost related issue-

Lar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2620
Re: dimensioning text size
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2016, 03:20:55 PM »
Actually it's pretty straight forward...
a] to set up global parameters use the Options dialog,
b] to edit any parameter of any number of existing dimensions simultaneously use the info box,
c] to change global parameters on the fly use the command's dialog box.

...Well, you can't save different dimension styles so I guess that can be klutzy if that's what you're use to. What you can do, though, is save actual dimensions with the individual styles you want, in a template file, then when creating dimensions click the 'same as' button in the command's main dialog box and then click on the existing dimension with the style you want. Then, if you want, you can use the 'options' buttons to tweak a few parameters.

If you want to change existing dimensions to another style, select them all and from the info box click the 'same as' finger then click on the dimension you want to copy from (be careful with this because everything -except the layer- will change to match, including things like the 'fixed text' setting, accuracy, multiplier, pre/suffixes and tolerances).

Lar

Dr PR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5488
Re: dimensioning text size
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2016, 05:54:57 PM »
You can use the "Edit/Selection Filter" to make it so you can select dimensions only by dragging a selection box around the drawing.

Click the "Select By Entity Type" option. Then click the "Entity Type" tab and click on "Dimension" in the list on the left. Use the "Add -->" button to put "Dimension" in the selection list on the right.

DO NOT CLOSE THE Selection Filter DIALOG!!!!

Now click on the "main" window header (or in the window) to move the "focus" (cursor) there.

Drag a selection box around the part of the drawing with dimensions (or all of the drawing) and only dimensions will be selected.

Now you can use the Info Box to modify all of the selected dimensions.

Phil
DesignCAD user since 1987