Author Topic: Razer Tartarus  (Read 974 times)

dsp

Razer Tartarus
« on: May 18, 2016, 06:00:26 PM »
Hi Guys new to the forum, what a lot of great info here. I've been looking thru a number of posts on short cut keys macros etc. I am surprised that there is no mention of anyone using a Razer Tartarus or something similar ie: game pad. Now I am not a professional designer by no means, I only use 2D for line drawings for electrical work.  I picked up this game pad from a computer store after the guy telling me you can use this for short cut keyboard commands. So I bought it to try it and I think it is the best thing since sliced bread.  It has 15 keys which are programmable. You can also select  from one of 8 Keymaps which gives you a total of 90 short cut keys. Mind you it would take some practice to remember all of them but I made a chart in Excel to keep track of them. Not sure if it would work as good in 3D but a keyboard short cut is what it.  Anyhow, I find it very useful with one hand on the mouse and the other on the game pad..  By the way I'm not a gamer so I was really glad that it worked on Cad.  Hope I posted this in the right spot and if any one has used this and has discovered any pitfalls before I have please let me know. I've only had it for a couple of weeks but seems great to me.  ;D

Bob P

• Era Replica Automobiles
Re: Razer Tartarus
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2016, 02:36:54 AM »
Years ago, I had a programmable keyboard that did much of what that does, but I didn't find it that useful.  Designcad's ability to assign key combos and run macros made it unnecessary, although a single key-press for a macro is appealing.

Lar

« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2016, 10:49:54 AM »