Author Topic: Cabmaker 32 / Design cad 3d max v21  (Read 6190 times)

Dean

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 284
Re: Cabmaker 32 / Design cad 3d max v21
« Reply #15 on: March 24, 2013, 05:13:30 AM »
Hi Garry, nice job on the doors. Custom cabinetry design is all about the doors, moldings and hardware.
I un-installed >re-installed CabMaker 32 and now I can’t render any cabinets. Attached is the prompt I get. Any fix for this? Thanks
Windows 7 64 Bit Home Premium
AMD Turion™ 11 Ultra Dual Core Mobile M600 (laptop)
2.40 GHz - 4GB
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4500/5100 Series (display adapter)

Garry K

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Cabmaker 32 / Design cad 3d max v21
« Reply #16 on: March 24, 2013, 07:11:20 AM »
Dean,

You should have rights to a public folder. I've seen this sort of message in 2 situations.
1) The folder isn't there.
2) The file is already there and opened in note pad or something like that.

Can you confirm that the OS doesn't have the file open when you are trying to render.


Dean

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 284
Re: Cabmaker 32 / Design cad 3d max v21
« Reply #17 on: March 24, 2013, 10:21:44 AM »
Garry,
I have the CabMaker 32 folder in public documents which contains > texture folder > cabmaker32.db > sql_1.0.4 dat files, That's all. The Cabinets.txt file is not there and no other programs are running.
Windows 7 64 Bit Home Premium
AMD Turion™ 11 Ultra Dual Core Mobile M600 (laptop)
2.40 GHz - 4GB
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4500/5100 Series (display adapter)

Garry K

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Cabmaker 32 / Design cad 3d max v21
« Reply #18 on: March 24, 2013, 10:48:54 AM »
Dean,

Please create a jobs folder under documents\public documents\cabmaker32. See if the folder being there allows the file to be created.



Garry K

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Cabmaker 32 / Design cad 3d max v21
« Reply #19 on: March 24, 2013, 04:19:24 PM »
I've been working on the Cathedral Arch. Interesting math. Anyway this is about the best I could do.
Notice that the LEFT side of the arch is radiused and the RIGHT side is not. The LEFT side is what I am going for.

Turns out that a small radius is necessary for the extrusion to work properly.

The doors will be available in flat panel, or panel raised.
0) Plain panel
1) Square
2) Arch top
3) Arch top and bottom
4) Cathedral top
5) Cathedral top and bottom

Garry K

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Cabmaker 32 / Design cad 3d max v21
« Reply #20 on: March 24, 2013, 04:31:52 PM »
Here are the Arch doors top and bottom.
The heights are all 600 mm and the widths are
225, 250, 275, 300, 400, 600

The cabinets can have any width from 225 up and any height from 250 and up

Dean

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 284
Re: Cabmaker 32 / Design cad 3d max v21
« Reply #21 on: March 24, 2013, 06:32:05 PM »
Dean,

Please create a jobs folder under documents\public documents\cabmaker32. See if the folder being there allows the file to be created.

Thanks Garry,
That fixed the problem. I can now render the current cabinet or all cabinets in Sku and Design cad.
The attached render is your “upstairs desk” job. The job was rendered into Sku then rendered with Imsi Renditioner pro v3 plug in. It needs some moldings up top and some hardware to finish it off. Your new doors are looking nice. I use cutlist 4 with Sku, works good with the cabinets. I just need to create a new material with "Sheet" in the name > apply that material to the cabinet boxes to get a "sheet goods" cutlist. Is there any way to assign "attributes' to the cabinet parent blocks and or child blocks so when it's rendered into Design cad I could get a material list.
Windows 7 64 Bit Home Premium
AMD Turion™ 11 Ultra Dual Core Mobile M600 (laptop)
2.40 GHz - 4GB
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4500/5100 Series (display adapter)

Garry K

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Cabmaker 32 / Design cad 3d max v21
« Reply #22 on: March 24, 2013, 10:24:58 PM »
You can add new materials into the textures folder. Add 1 material for vertical surfaces and 1 material for horizontal.

The texture file must have the name of the texture plus _hor or _ver

Say you want to use a wood called hickory_sheet.

Put into the texture folder:
hickory_hor.jpg and hickory_ver.jpg

Make a new materials record and put into it
hickory sheet

rendering uses the name in the material file but discards everything after the space.
Cutlist plus uses exactly what is in the material file plus requires an exact match on thickness - unless you are using decimal millimeters in which case you have a rounding option.

You can say 18.53 millimeters and find a match in cutlist plus for 18.5 with rounding. With inches you need an exact match.

3/4" or .75 etc.



Dean

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 284
Re: Cabmaker 32 / Design cad 3d max v21
« Reply #23 on: March 26, 2013, 05:45:12 PM »
You can add new materials into the textures folder. Add 1 material for vertical surfaces and 1 material for horizontal.

The texture file must have the name of the texture plus _hor or _ver

Say you want to use a wood called hickory_sheet.

Put into the texture folder:
hickory_hor.jpg and hickory_ver.jpg

Make a new materials record and put into it
hickory sheet

rendering uses the name in the material file but discards everything after the space.
Cutlist plus uses exactly what is in the material file plus requires an exact match on thickness - unless you are using decimal millimeters in which case you have a rounding option.

You can say 18.53 millimeters and find a match in cutlist plus for 18.5 with rounding. With inches you need an exact match.

3/4" or .75 etc.

Garry,
 I am not having any luck with the “sheet “method you described. I created a new record mycherry sheet when I exited then re-opened sqlite the .db file contained two records “mycherry sheet” starting at 1 and another at the end as you see in the attached picture. Also, The attached picture shows this “error” I keep getting  in Sqlite when trying to delete the record. What in the heck are foreign constraints? Are there more steps I need to do to assign a “sheet material” in CabMaker 32?.  Do you have anything I can read that describes more in depth the process. Is it in the help file? Thanks,
Come to think of it, I’ll just use Sku to create the “sheet” material,  it’s more time  applying the textures but it’s easy and works for now.
Windows 7 64 Bit Home Premium
AMD Turion™ 11 Ultra Dual Core Mobile M600 (laptop)
2.40 GHz - 4GB
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4500/5100 Series (display adapter)

Garry K

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Cabmaker 32 / Design cad 3d max v21
« Reply #24 on: March 27, 2013, 04:10:43 PM »
Dean,

Sorry - we just got back from a 3 day ski holiday.

The easiest way to create  another material file is to choose an existing one that is close and then clone it.

1) open one of the material choices.
2) change its name to hickory.
3) click clone.

This process will copy all of the information over to its own material type.

Then change the names of materials to hickory and save.

If you give me the exact name that you are interested in I can outline it step by step.

Garry

Garry K

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Cabmaker 32 / Design cad 3d max v21
« Reply #25 on: April 05, 2013, 01:39:35 PM »
A new version of Cabmaker32 is now available.

Garry K

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Cabmaker 32 / Design cad 3d max v21
« Reply #26 on: April 05, 2013, 06:06:48 PM »
Here is an example of a different kitchen complete with panel raised doors.

Garry K

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Cabmaker 32 / Design cad 3d max v21
« Reply #27 on: June 20, 2013, 07:59:10 PM »
I've now added another program called CutMasterPro. It is a panel optimizer that can be run independently or run from within CabMaker32.

Either enter data manually or import CSV file or a batch of CSV files. One of the reports produces Labels that complete with a bar code.

Garry K

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Cabmaker 32 / Design cad 3d max v21
« Reply #28 on: June 20, 2013, 08:05:10 PM »
I am now working on a program that integrates with CabMaker32. I don't know what I will call it yet - but it produces either DXF files or GCode files for each part or nested.

This is an example of a side panel complete with CNC boring.