Author Topic: Problem with sys(438)  (Read 2906 times)

JJG

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 720
Problem with sys(438)
« on: May 02, 2012, 06:49:22 AM »
since V21, I have some problems with sys(438)  (dimension text size).

Indeed, it seems to be read only, now, i.e. since V21, i.e. since the text-size refreshs all others parameters linked to it too.

In other words, since V21, you can not anymore resize the dimension text size from this parameter.

JJG

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 720
Re: Problem with sys(438)
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2012, 07:23:12 AM »
In fact, the problem for me is with Balloon entities :

in earlier version of Designcad, the text size of such entities was the dimension text size.
And now, it is the (normal) text size who is taken in count ... not lol !

a bug ?
« Last Edit: May 02, 2012, 07:25:42 AM by JJG »

JJG

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 720
Re: Problem with sys(438)
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2012, 12:47:01 AM »
no reply ...   ???  (may be because I use the word "normal" instead of "regular" or "standar" ?  (excuse me, I'm french)

to illustrate this problem, bellow 2 macros :

this one works as well in V19 and previous  (I have put in comment some not necessary parameters, i.e. that I use to work with or without properties of Layers)
Code: [Select]
'Nr of piece  JJG

'RED=sys(300) ' Save Current drawing color, Red value [0-255]
'GREEN=sys(301) ' Save Current drawing color, Green value [0-255]
'BLUE=sys(302) ' Save Current drawing color, Blue value [0-255]
COUCHE=sys(3) ' Save active layer
'LUSC=sys(530) ' Layer uses specific color (0/1)
'LUSL=sys(534) ' layer uses specific linestyle (0/1)
'LUFL=sys(538) ' layer uses fixed linewidth (0/1)
'ELCS=sys(541) ' enforce layer color settings on all new entities
'ELLS=sys(542) ' enforce layer linestyle settings on all new entities
TEXTE=sys(438)   ' Save dimension text size

sys(438)=TEXTE*1.5  

>Balloon
{
  <Color 0,0,0
  <Layer 12
  <Font "Arial"
  <incomplete
  }

FIN:
sys(3)=COUCHE 'restore initial parameters
'sys(530)=0
'sys(534)=0
'sys(538)=0
'sys(541)=0
'sys(542)=0
'sys(300)=RED
'sys(301)=GREEN
'sys(302)=BLUE
sys(438)=TEXTE

End.
but work not correctly in V21 : "regular" text size is taking in count, whereas it should be "dimension" texte size, which is represented by sys(438).

OK ?

bellow the corrected macro for V21 :
Code: [Select]
'Nr of piece for V21  JJG

'RED=sys(300) ' Save Current drawing color, Red value [0-255]
'GREEN=sys(301) ' Save Current drawing color, Green value [0-255]
'BLUE=sys(302) ' Save Current drawing color, Blue value [0-255]
COUCHE=sys(3) ' Save active layer
'LUSC=sys(530) ' Layer uses specific color (0/1)
'LUSL=sys(534) ' layer uses specific linestyle (0/1)
'LUFL=sys(538) ' layer uses fixed linewidth (0/1)
'ELCS=sys(541) ' enforce layer color settings on all new entities
'ELLS=sys(542) ' enforce layer linestyle settings on all new entities
TEXTECOT=sys(438) ' Save dimension text size
TEXTE=sys(12) ' Save text size

 
'sys(438)=TEXTECOT*1.5  
sys(12)=TEXTECOT*1.5  

>Balloon
{
  <Color 0,0,0
  <Layer 12
  <Font "Arial"
  <incomplete
  }

FIN:
sys(3)=COUCHE 'restore initial parameters
'sys(530)=0
'sys(534)=0
'sys(538)=0
'sys(541)=0
'sys(542)=0
'sys(300)=RED
'sys(301)=GREEN
'sys(302)=BLUE

'sys(438)=TEXTECOT
sys(12)=TEXTE

End.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2012, 12:59:00 AM by JJG »

JJG

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 720
Re: Problem with sys(438)
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2012, 12:58:15 AM »
OK, for this time, the code below works now for all versions :
Code: [Select]
'Nr of piece for V21 and previous   JJG

'RED=sys(300) ' Save Current drawing color, Red value [0-255]
'GREEN=sys(301) ' Save Current drawing color, Green value [0-255]
'BLUE=sys(302) ' Save Current drawing color, Blue value [0-255]
COUCHE=sys(3) ' Save active layer
'LUSC=sys(530) ' Layer uses specific color (0/1)
'LUSL=sys(534) ' layer uses specific linestyle (0/1)
'LUFL=sys(538) ' layer uses fixed linewidth (0/1)
'ELCS=sys(541) ' enforce layer color settings on all new entities
'ELLS=sys(542) ' enforce layer linestyle settings on all new entities
TEXTECOT=sys(438) ' Save dimension text size
TEXTE=sys(12) ' Save text size

 
sys(438)=TEXTECOT*1.5  
sys(12)=TEXTECOT*1.5  

>Balloon
{
  <Color 0,0,0
  <Layer 12
  <Font "Arial"
  <incomplete
  }

FIN:
sys(3)=COUCHE 'restore initial parameters
'sys(530)=0
'sys(534)=0
'sys(538)=0
'sys(541)=0
'sys(542)=0
'sys(300)=RED
'sys(301)=GREEN
'sys(302)=BLUE

sys(438)=TEXTECOT
sys(12)=TEXTE

End.

paulerens

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 915
Re: Problem with sys(438)
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2012, 07:46:56 AM »
Hi JJG,
This problem existed for a long time.
There is ambiguity in the question "Balloon size:" Is this the diameter or radius of the balloon?
If you get the info box opens, you will find as "radius" 1/4 of your specified size.
And if you measure the diameter of the "balloon" the result is 50% of the desired size.
I have this problem already addressed in the time of version 17. But there is no consequence to data.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2012, 07:50:35 AM by paulerens »

JJG

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 720
Re: Problem with sys(438)
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2012, 12:17:35 PM »
Hi Paulerens,

I have the V18.35 (Designcad pro 7000, french) and Designcad V19, where in both there is not this problem ... I discover it just in V21 and similar (pro 8000, french), I'm sure of that.
That's why I report it here.
I aggre that there is no consequence for data, but it may be fixed : balloons are considered as dimensions, so their text-size must be the dimension text-size, like it was before, in previous versions.

Dempsey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1901
  • Intel i7-960, 12GB, NVidiaGTX570, Win7x64, DC26.2
    • World of van Vliet
Re: Problem with sys(438)
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2012, 10:58:40 PM »
The Balloon and Pullout settings are lumped into the Dimension options for convenience, but in reality they are text functions and not dimensions!

The whole dimension options settings have been reworked in V21. Unfortunately the Balloon and Pullout has still errors.

Right now the Balloon text size is not based on the Normal Text size, it is based on the Pullout text size (go figure). Secondly, the balloon text size cannot be set separately, nor can it be flagged as to be the same as the normal text size. The Balloon's greyed out same as normal text flag is trigger by the one from the linear dimension (sick). These should all be fixed.

The balloon size is based on the text size, however I noticed that often the text size is scaled up/down to fit the balloon. The balloon size is the diameter. There is work to done here.
Dempsey

JJG

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 720
Re: Problem with sys(438)
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2012, 06:04:37 AM »
Thanks Dempsey.