Author Topic: DesignCAD 3D Max 21 or TurboCAD Deluxe 18?  (Read 6278 times)

Mon

DesignCAD 3D Max 21 or TurboCAD Deluxe 18?
« on: January 05, 2012, 04:24:42 AM »
Hi All,

Nice community here :)

I have been using CAD intermittently since 1991, starting with DOS EasyCAD and FastCAD to make land survey drawings, then TurboCAD in the mid 90s for a couple of years before switching to Autosketch 8 in the late 90s, mainly for architectural drawings. I have used Sketchup more recently to get a idea of how to produce 3D drawings.

My father has been using TurboCAD for about 10 years (currently using an out of date v 9.2) and has had some problems with it. He uses it to draw fairly simple engineering diagrams. He has decided to upgrade or try an alternative, but is worried at nearly 80 it takes him a long time to pick stuff up and the curve for TurboCAD was steep enough. He lives in a remote part of Africa and has only recently got a decent internet connection, so was basically on his own trying to learn.

I want to take his 2D drawings and turn them into 3D, and also to be able to help him with whatever program he chooses for his 2D work. So we are looking for a cheap package we can both buy, and it seems it is a choice between TurboCAD Deluxe 17 and DesignCAD 3d Max. All his files are in TCW format so would need converting to dwg (maybe as a batch?).

Assuming I can help him pick up DesignCAD, can anyone tell me what the major differences are regarding 3D work between TC Deluxe and DC? When I look on the TurboCAD forum, everyone seems to favour the Pro or Platinum versions, which are far too expensive. I don't want photorealistic images as they will be used for construction manuals and likely to be shaded only. Any particular reasons we should pick DesignCAD?