Author Topic: Database - SQL info request/help  (Read 3656 times)

Rex

Database - SQL info request/help
« on: November 08, 2010, 07:12:39 AM »
I am a business admin for a company that generates a vast amount of DesignCad drawings for customers and our techs spend a lot of time entering info from excel to DesignCad. My simple question is if it is possible to link/connect DesignCad to a SQL/ODBC/MSAcess/MSexcel...

Please help - I tryed to look for help online but I don't see any topics that are specific to this subject.

Rex

DrollTroll

• Kindly Curmudgeon
  • Administrator
Re: Database - SQL info request/help
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2010, 07:52:16 AM »
Hi Rex,

DesignCAD can't connect directly to a database or Excel; however, it should be possible to have a utility program load your database or excel program and directly enter the data into a DesignCAD drawing, using the OLE Automation interface.
25 years with DesignCAD

JJG

« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2010, 10:13:31 AM »
another trick is to "save as" .txt the original .xls- or .xlsx-file in Exel (or other spreadsheet) : then DesignCAD can work with via a macro.

dcadRob

« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2010, 10:49:01 AM »
Assuming that your techs are entering text from an Excel file, you can save as a CSV file and write a macro to read the values.

Dr PR

« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2010, 11:34:04 AM »
Rex,

I have taken numbers and text from Excel into DesignCAD in two different ways.

1. Sometimes I want to enter the text into a DesignCAD file, to appear as text in the drawing. For that I copy from Excel and paste into Word. I clean up the text in Word (if necessary) and then copy and paste into DesignCAD. There you can select the text and change font information if need be. However, I don't recall if you can import a Word table into DesignCAD. As I recall it is a lot of work to reconstruct tables in DesignCAD.